A. Bertram Chandler Award

In 1991 the Australian Science Fiction Foundation established the A. Bertram Chandler Award for "Outstanding Achievement in Australian Science Fiction", in recognition of the contribution that science fiction writer A. Bertram Chandler made to Australian Science Fiction and to Australian fandom in general. It is Australia's premier award for lifetime achievement in science fiction.

The Chandler, as it is fondly known, is a jury award and, although nominally an annual award, is not necessarily presented every year.

The first Chandler Award was presented in 1992 to Van Ikin at the National Science Fiction Convention - SynCon '92.

How to nominate

  • Nominations for the Chandler Award are always open. The Jury usually considers the nominations about 4 months before the annual Australian National Science Fiction Convention is due to be held.
  • To nominate someone whom you believe has made a significant contribution to Australian science fiction and/ or Australian fandom, write or email to the ASFF, noting the nominee’s achievements and why you consider
    the nominee worthy of the Award.
  • The nomination need not be seconded, but anonymous nominations will not be considered.
  • Nominees should be recognised members of the Australian speculative fiction community, whether in professional areas such as publishing or from the myriad fandoms that make up the scene.
  • If accepted, nominations are added to the Chandler Awards Nominations List and considered by the Jury (usually the ASFF Committee). Nominations may be rolled over from year to year.

The winner of the Chandler is announced at the annual Australian Science Fiction Convention.

P.O. Box 215 Forest Hill Vic 3131.
Email address: awards@asff.org.au

Previous winners of the A. Bertram Chandler Award

2019: Awarded to: Alan Stewart.

2018: Awarded to Edwina Harvey

2017: Awarded to Bill Wright.

2016 James (Jocko) Allen 2003 Lucy Sussex
2015 Donna Maree Hanson 2002 John Foyster
2014 Danny "Danger" Oz 2001 John Bangsund
2013 Russell B. Farr 1999 Graham Stone
2012 Richard Harland 1997 Susan Batho (Smith-Clarke)
2011 Paul Collins 1996 Grant Stone
2010 Damien Broderick 1995 Wynne Whiteford
2009 Rosaleen Love 1994 George Turner
2007 Bruce Gillespie 1993 Merv Binns
2006 Lee Harding 1992 Van Ikin