Ditmar 2020 Voting Extended to September 6

Voting for the Australian Ditmar Award is now open until September 6 2020.

Convention members for Continuum 19, Swancon 20/21 and Swancon 2019 are welcome to vote.

2020 Ditmar Award Ballot released; voting now open

The Ditmar subcommittee are pleased to announce that voting for the Australian SF ("Ditmar") Award for 2020 is now open, and will remain open until one minute before midnight Perth time on Sunday, 6th of September, 2020 (ie. 11.59pm, GMT+8).

Read more

Hugo Award Winners Announced at CoNZealand

For the first time ever, the awards were presented in a virtual ceremony as part of CoNZealand, the 78th World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon).

Arkady Martine's debut novel, A Memory Called Empire, which explores the links between language, culture and interplanetary politics, has won the Hugo Award for the Best Novel.

This Is How You Lose the Time War, a time travelling spy love story, by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone won in the Best Novella category, and Emergency Skin, set on a post-apocalyptic Earth, by N.K. Jemisin for the Best Novelette.

S.L. Huang's As the Last I May Know won the Hugo for the Best Short Story and the Expanse, by James S. A. Corey won the Best Series category.

Jeannette Ng's 2019 John W. Campbell Award Acceptance Speech, which led to the award's name being changed, received a Hugo for Best Related Work.

The Astounding Award for Best New Writer was awarded to R.F. Kuang.

LaGuardia, written by Nnedi Okorafor and illustrated by Tana Ford and James Devlin won the Hugo Award for best Best Graphic Story or Comic.

Good Omens, written by Neil Gaiman and directed by Douglas Mackinnon; and The Good Place, written by Daniel Schofield and directed by Valeria Migliassi; picked up a Hugo each for Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form and Short Form respectively.

The Hugo Awards are the most prestigious accolades in the science fiction and fantasy genre. They have been presented at Worldcons since 1953. The physical award is in the shape of a rocket ship mounted on a base designed specifically for that year's awards.

This year's bases were designed by New Zealand artist John Flower and feature a paua shell koru swirl and the Matariki star cluster.

All winners are listed below:

Read more